Russian version

Definitions of securities in legislation outside Russia

"Nobody has yet succeeded in understanding the notion of securities either in life, in science, or in legislation."
G. F. Shershenevich



In common law there is no precise definition of the essence of a security; only unifying concepts of securities are given.
The UK

The term «securities» means stocks, securities and shares (Settled Land Act, 1925, paragraph 117).
As applied to a legal entity, «securities» means all types of shares, share capital, bonds, preferred shares and other securities of a similar type, which are used by legal entities (Transport Act, 1962, paragraph 92).
«securities» is understood to mean shares, share capital, bonds, preferred shares, loan capital, promissory notes, or a share in a collective investment scheme, in accordance with the provisions of the Financial Services Act, 1986, and other types of securities (Stock Transfer Act, 1963, paragraph 4, taking into account the provisions of the Financial Services Act, 1986.
The main meaning of the word «securities» is not open to doubt. The word denotes a debt or claim the payment of which is in some way secured. The security would generally consist of a right to resort to some fund or property for payment, although in this case we can exclude other forms of debt (particularly guarantees offered by a physical person). Nevertheless, in any specific case, the use of the word or phrase in its main sense provides for some form of secured liability (Singer V. Williams [1921] AC 41, 49, HNL, per Viscont Cave).
The USA
The term «security» is understood to mean all types of promissory notes, share capital, treasury shares, guarantees, evidence of debt, certificates attesting to the owners share in a companys revenue or participation in any kinds of agreements on division of profit, certificates of the guarantee of other companies by securities, certificates of preliminary agreements or subscription certificates (provisional subscription certificates), transferred shares, investment contracts, voting trust certificates, indivisible share participation relating to rights to extract oil, gas and other useful minerals or all types of interest or means of payment as a whole, known as debt security, or certificates attesting to the owners share in a companys revenue or his participation in any provisional certificates, receipts, guarantees or rights to subscription or acquisition of any of the aforementioned obligations (Securities Act, 1933, paragraph 2 (1)).
A rather incomprehensible definition of the essence of a security is to be found in the Uniform Commercial Code of the USA (paragraph (c), pages 8102):

"A security is either documentary or non-documentary. If a security is documentary, the terms «security» and «documentary security» can mean either an intangible property interest, or a document which represents such an interest, or both of these depending on the context. ".

Other countries
Germanys Civil Code and Trade Code do not contain a clear definition of a security.

Only in the Code of Property Law of the Swiss Confederation is there a more-or-less decent definition of the essence of a security (Article 965):32

"A security is any document to which a right is related in such a way that one cannot lay claim to it and one cannot transfer it to another party without said document."


BACK

Copying information from this website is only allowed under condition of referring to this web link.

Copyright © 2008 Andrey Gribov
All rights reserved

English version

Зарубежные определения ценной бумаги

"Понятие о ценных бумагах не успело до сих пор выясниться ни в жизни, ни в науке, ни в законодательстве"
Г. Ф. Шершеневич
31



В Common Low нет четко данного определения сущности ценной бумаги, приводятся лишь обьединительные понятия ценных бумаг.
Англия

«Ценные бумаги» (securities) означает - биржевые бумаги, фондовые ценности и акции (Закон о учреждении прав на недвижимость (Settled Land Act), 1925, п. 117).
«Ценные бумаги» применительно к юридическому лицу означают все виды акций, акционерного капитала, облигаций, привилегированных акций и других ценных бумаг аналогичного типа, использующихся юридическими лицами (Закон о транспорте (Transport Act), 1962, п. 92).
Под «ценными бумагами» понимаются акции, акционерный капитал, облигации, привилегированные акции, ссудный капитал, долговые обязательства, пай коллективной инвестиционной схемы, согласно положениям Закона о финансовых услугах (Financial Services Act) от 1986 г., и другие виды ценных бумаг (Закон о передаче акций (Stock Transfer Act) от 1963 г., п. 4, с учетом положений Закона о финансовых услугах (Financial Services Act) от 1986 г.).
«Основное значение выражения «ценные бумаги» (securities) не вызывает сомнений. Под ним понимается долговое обязательство или требование долга, погашение которого обеспечено определенным образом. Обеспечение долга обычно включает право обращения к тому или иному фонду либо имуществу в целях погашения задолженности, хотя в этом случае мы не можем исключить и других форм долговых обязательств (в частности, гарантий, предоставляемых физическим лицом). Тем не менее, в каждом конкретном случае использование слова или словосочетания в его основном значении предусматривает ту или иную форму обеспеченного обязательства». Singer v Williams [1921] AC 41, 49, HNL, per Viscount Cave
США
Под термином «ценная бумага» понимаются все виды долговых обязательств, акционерного капитала, казначейских акций, поручительств, долговых документов, сертификатов, удостоверяющих долю владельца в доходах фирмы или участие в каких-либо соглашениях о разделе прибыли, сертификатов об обеспечении ценными бумагами других компаний, сертификатов о предварительных соглашениях или подписных сертификатов (временных свидетельств о подписке), перемещаемых акций, инвестиционных контрактов, сертификатов голосующего траста, неделимого долевого участия в отношении прав на добычу нефти, газа и других полезных ископаемых либо все виды процентов или платежных средств в целом, известных под названием «обеспечение долга», либо сертификатов, удостоверяющих долю владельца в доходах фирмы или его участие в каких-либо временных свидетельствах, расписках в получении, гарантиях или правах на подписку либо приобретение любых вышеуказанных обязательств (Закон о ценных бумагах (Securities Act) от 1933 г., п. 2 (1)).
Невнятное определение сущности ценной бумаги содержится лишь в Едином Торговом Кодексе США (п. “с” ст. 8-102):

"Ценная бумага — это либо документарная, либо бездокументарная ценная бумага. Если ценная бумага является документарной, термины "ценная бумага" и "документарная ценная бумага" могут обозначать либо не материализованный (intangible) имущественный интерес, либо документ, представляющий такой интерес, либо и то и другое, если это вытекает из контекста".

Гражданское Уложение Германии и Торговое Уложение Германии не содержат четкого определения ценной бумаги.
И более менее приличное определение сущности ценной бумаги нашлось только в Кодексе Обязательного Права Швейцарской Конфедерации Ст. 965 :32

"Wertpapier ist jede Urkunde, mit der ein Recht derart verknüpft ist, dass es ohne die Urkunde weder geltend gemacht noch auf andere ubertragen werden kann."

"Является ценной бумагой любой документ, с которым право связано таким образом, что на него нельзя претендовать и его нельзя передавать другим без данного документа."


СТРАНИЦА ДЛЯ ПЕЧАТИ       |       ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС АВТОРУ       |       ВЕРНУТЬСЯ НАЗАД

Копирование информации данного сайта допускается только при условии указания ссылки на сайт

Copyright © 2017 Грибов А.Ю.
Все права защищены